Skip to main content

NIH Library Writing Center: Citation Management

Citation Management Software

EndNote® and EndNote Web are citation management tools frequently used by NIH writers. NIH employees and affiliates have the opportunity to download EndNote X7 software through December 31, 2016. Read more about the NIH-wide license for EndNote X7.

EndNote Web is also available free to NIH staff. Using this software allows you to create your manuscript's reference list or bibliography easily using Microsoft Word®. (Disclaimer: The NIH Library does not endorse any of these products but does support the information needs of NIH staff who use these products to do their work.)

Users of Reference Manager software should start to migrate their personal or group libraries to another product such as EndNote, Mendeley, Zotero, or Faculty of 1000 Workspace. Reference Manager software is no longer being updated and the company's technical support will cease after December 2016. Request NIH Library assistance with converting your Reference Manager files.

Link to product Web sites for answers to frequently asked questions about computer/software compatibility, trial downloads, product comparisons, and online tutorials.

EndNote

YouTube video Exporting from PubMed to EndNote

EndNote Web

Switch from Reference Manager to EndNote following easy steps.

 

Assistance is Available
For assistance using citation management software to create your manuscript, email the NIH Library Writing Center for an appointment. The NIH Library also offers individual tutorials and classes.

How to Download or Edit Output Styles for EndNoteĀ® or Reference ManagerĀ®

For EndNote®: The EndNote styles collection contains more than 4,500 bibliographic styles for a variety of disciplines. If you do not see the style you need, check the EndNote Web site.

If you find the journal style you need, download the file and save to the desktop

  1. For Windows: left click on the Start menu, click Explore, go to Program Files, click on EndNote, click on the Styles folder.
  2. Drag and drop the output style file from your desktop to the folder.

If you cannot find the output style you need from the EndNote Web site, you can alter an existing style to conform to your needs.

  1. From the Edit menu, choose Output Styles and select Open Style Manager.
  2. In the Style Manager, change the setting in the information panel (on the right- hand side) from Style Info to Style Preview. The preview of the selected style should now be displayed.
  3. Scroll through the list of available styles to see if you can find one that is similar to what you need.
  4. Once you have found a similar style, select it, and click the Edit button. The Style window opens.
  5. Choose Save As from the File menu, give this copy of the style a new name that corresponds to the name of the journal you want to use it for, and click Save. This will also keep the original style unchanged, in the event that you need to use it later.
  6. The new Style window remains open for you to edit as you need.
  7. There are many elements of the style that may be edited. For detailed information on specifics of editing styles refer to the EndNote Manual (via the Help button). As an example, you can edit the citations in the text from superscript numbers "1" to "author-year type". Click on Templates under the Citation heading to see the Citation panel. This template tells EndNote how to format the in-text citations. (The bibliography number corresponds to a numbered reference in a bibliography.) An author-year type of style would display as “(Author, Year)” in the citation template. You may change the template by deleting unwanted field names or punctuation, retyping the punctuation you want, and inserting new fields with the Insert Field button.

YouTube video Modifying EndNote Output Styles

 

For Reference Manager®: The Reference Manager styles collection contains more than 1,300 bibliographic styles for a variety of disciplines. If you do not see the style you need, check the Reference Manager® Web site.

If you cannot find the output style you need from the Reference Manager® Web site, you can alter an existing style to conform to your needs.

Find a Similar Style to the One You Need

  1. Open Reference Manager.
  2. From the Tools menu, choose Bibliography and then Open Output Style.
  3. Scroll through the list of styles.
  4. Click on a style. The reference format for that style will be previewed below.
  5. Select (highlight) a style and click on Open and the Style window will open.

Save the Style and Then Make Changes to It

  1. From the file menu, select File and then Save As.
  2. Give this style copy a new name and save it. The new style will remain open for changes.

Make Changes to the Style

  1. Select the In-Text Reference tab
    • Under Reference Type, select Generic, then, in the Definitions box, make changes, if any, to the fields.
  2. Select the Bibliography tab.
    • Under Reference Type, select the type of reference you wish to make changes to, for example: journal, or book, or electronic citation.
    • For each reference type, change the fields as needed.
  3. Save the changes: from the file menu select File, then Save As.

Switch from Reference Manager to EndNote following easy steps.

Contact Us

NIHL Writing Center's picture
NIHL Writing Center
Contact:
NIH Library, Building 10

(physical Writing Center located on the B1 Level in the Library)



301-496-1080
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page

Twitter