NIH Library Writing-Related Classes (for NIH and HHS staff only)
View all classes via the Training Calendar at: http://nihlibrary.beta.libcal.com/calendar/nihltraining
View classes listed alphabetically at: http://nihlibrary.nih.gov/resourcetraining/Pages/default.aspx
To request a tutorial, email the NIH Library Writing Center.
10 Tips for Self-Editing Your Manuscript
Editing your own work is challenging. Learn techniques that can help you find that stray typo or overlooked grammar error. This basic class will help you gain proofreading skills used by professional editors and gain editing competency using Microsoft Word tools.
Bibliometric Analysis Using Web of Science and Scopus
Introduction to methods of assessing individual and organizational publication performance, with emphasis on citation analysis. Course will demonstrate methods to explore how bibliographical data might be analyzed and retrieved using Web of Science and Scopus.
Citation Management Software Expo
Do you need help organizing or formatting citations in a manuscript you hope to submit for publication? If so, the NIH Library is here to help you. Come learn about how citation management tools can help you organize your papers more effectively, prepare manuscripts for publication more efficiently, and easily share references with colleagues. The NIH Library provides access to and in-house support for EndNote, Mendeley, and Faculty of 1000, but knowing which one of these tools best suits your needs can be difficult to determine. This session will cover the basic functionality of these tools, their strengths and weaknesses, and how you can get started with using them.
Copyright and Plagiarism: What NIH Authors Need to Know
NIH employees make presentations about their research as well as publish about it in journal articles, book chapters, or books. To enhance audience engagement, NIH authors often choose to use cartoons, illustrations, photographs, figures, and tables. In this class, you will learn how to reduce the risk of copyright infringement and plagiarism when using artwork or writing that is not your own.
EndNote Desktop: Managing Your Search Results
EndNote is a reference management tool for finding, downloading and organizing references in a personal, searchable database. With EndNote you can import references from online databases such as PubMed and Web of Science; search for and edit references; insert references in manuscripts with Microsoft "Word's Cite While You Write;" create bibliographies; and choose from thousands of journal publishing styles to format references and bibliographies.
Note about platform: This class covers EndNote for Windows using laptops with the Windows operating system. Mac users may request a tutorial for individualized training; select “EndNote: Managing Your Search Results (Mac)” on the Request a Tutorial Web page.
EndNote Web: Managing Citations
EndNote Web is a web-based research and writing tool and a perfect complement to EndNote and Reference Manager. Add, transfer, or import your references to EndNote Web and access your account via any web browser. Use Cite While You Write from EndNote Web to format your in-text citations and bibliography. If you do not have access to EndNote, then try EndNote Web. It is another great tool in your researcher toolbox.
EndNote: Modifying Output Styles
EndNote: Modifying Output Styles Online tutorial 6 Minutes
EndNote Web: Using EndNote from Anywhere
EndNote Web is a web-based research and writing tool and a perfect complement to EndNote and Reference Manager. Add, transfer or import your references to EndNote Web and access your account via any web browser. Use Cite While You Write from EndNote Web to format your in-text citations and bibliography. If you do not have access to EndNote, than try EndNote Web - it is another great tool in your researcher toolbox!
Ethical Writing: Issues in Scientific Publication
This one-hour overview class introduces NIH authors to the major issues surrounding the topic of publication ethics. A foundation of best practices for professional writing will help authors identify and avoid career-damaging mistakes. By the end of the class, participants will:
1. Identify and understand key science writing ethical issues
2. Learn how to properly cite another author’s work
3. Recognize when copyright permission is necessary
4. Be aware of ethical writing resources and organizations
Finding and Reusing Scientific Research Data
With many biomedical researchers now making their datasets publicly available, the answers to your research questions might be right at your fingertips. This class will introduce attendees to resources for finding existing research datasets that can address their hypotheses. Attendees will learn how to use Google Refine , a free, open-source tool, to prepare datasets for analysis and re-use. Methods for appropriately citing and acknowledging reused datasets will also be discussed.
Impact Assessment for Authors
Individual authors are increasingly being asked to demonstrate the impact of their published research using various citation-based metrics like the H-Index. Although such metrics have significant limitations, when used properly they can assist in the evaluation of individual authors for promotion, tenure, and green card applications. In this session, you will gain an understanding of how these metrics are calculated, why certain metrics like the Journal Impact Factor should not be used to evaluate an author’s work, and how to obtain appropriate citation metrics for yourself.
Introduction to Data Management
As science becomes increasingly data-intensive and new policies require sharing of research data, investigators need to be aware of how they can most effectively manage their data. This course will provide an introduction to best practices in data management applicable to almost all types of digital data, spanning the entire research life cycle, from before a project starts to after it ends. Attendees will learn techniques to make their data more useful to themselves and their team, enhance their ability to share their data, and increase citations to their research.
Introduction to Data Visualization with R's ggplot2
R’s ggplot2 is a data visualization package that implements the Grammar of Graphics, a theoretical framework for building graphs and charts up from their individual components, including data, geometric objects, coordinates, and aesthetic properties. Even novice users can create visually appealing and easy-to-understand visualizations with ggplot2 by adding, removing, or customizing components. This hands-on session will introduce participants to using ggplot2 with RStudio, a free program for R, to create basic data visualizations. PREREQUISITE: Completion of Introduction to R for Non-programmers, or basic proficiency with R.
Introduction to Mendeley
Mendeley is a free cross-platform application (Windows, OSX, Linux, iOS, Android) that helps you to organize and manage the materials you rely on to do your research. Mendeley can help you at every step of the research cycle - from keeping track of the papers you’ve read, to writing papers of your own. In this introduction you will learn to:
Journal Article Publishing: An Overview
Increase your chance of publication through an understanding of the journal publishing process. In this overview course you will: learn how to use Journal Citation Reports to identify target journals in your subject area; determine the requirements for different types of journal articles; use tools and techniques to improve your writing; and create text and references correct to a specific journal's style.
Poster Design and Presentation
You put lots of time and effort into your science, but your work isn’t over when your research is finished – you need to be able to communicate your results. This workshop will teach you skills to help you clearly and effectively get your message across in a professional research poster presentation. We will discuss best practices for presenting data, principles of visual perception and the psychology of communication, and software and tools to help you create appealing presentations and visualizations.
Principles of Effective Data Visualization
Data visualization is becoming an increasingly common method of presenting large and complex data sets, but the principles of visual communication are not widely understood or practiced. Like other forms of communication, visualization has its own grammar and syntax that, if used, can increase the aesthetics and effectiveness of any visualization. This session will provide an overview of how data visualizations are constructed, how people tend to understand visual cues like shape and color, and how to use those cues to create visualizations that are both attractive and informative.
Research Data Description and Organization (Webinar)
Unless you’re working all alone and never publish your results, chances are good that someone besides you will eventually look at your data. When they do, will they understand what your data means, how you collected it, and what your abbreviations and shorthand signify? Make your data easier for others to understand (and for you to work with) by learning how to gather metadata and use shared vocabularies. In this class, you’ll learn simple techniques for describing your data, including:
• finding and using specialized metadata standards,
• adapting or creating a metadata schema to describe your unique data, and
• use taxonomies, ontologies, and controlled vocabularies to ensure consistency in your description
Scientific Communication and Data Storytelling
You put lots of time and effort into your science, but your work isn’t over when your research is finished – you need to be able to communicate your results. This workshop will teach you skills to help you clearly and effectively get your message across through a variety of communication media, including papers, posters, and presentations. We will discuss best practices for presenting data, principles of visual perception and the psychology of communication, and software and tools to help you create appealing presentations and visualizations.
Undertaking a Systematic Review: What you Need to Know
According to the PRISMA guidelines, set forth in the Annals of Internal Medicine in 2009,a "Systematic Review attempts to collate all empirical evidence that fits pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. It uses explicit, systematic methods that are selected to minimize bias, thus providing reliable findings from which conclusions can be drawn and decisions made."
Recognizing the increasing importance of systematic reviews in biomedical literature, the NIH Library is offering a class on how to conduct a systematic review, according to PRISMA standards. NIH Library staff experienced in systematic review methodology and literature searching will conduct the class. The target audience includes clinical and research staff, or anyone interested in learning how to conduct and publish their reviews.
Writing Research Abstracts
Learn how to write compelling and concise research abstracts for submission to meetings and conferences. In this session you will learn the key components of a research abstract, how to structure your abstract, and how to write succinctly.
YouTube Training Videos from the NIH Library (NIHL)
View all classes via the Training Calendar at: http://nihlibrary.beta.libcal.com/calendar/nihltraining
Assistance is Available
For assistance using citation management software to create your manuscript, contact the NIH Library Writing Center for an appointment. The NIH Library also offers individual tutorials, classes, and an online EndNote guide.